Grand Jury
The Lorain County Grand Jury is an important component of the criminal justice system. In Ohio, the Grand Jury is part of the Common Pleas Court system. In all counties, the Grand Jury is composed of nine regular grand jurors and no more than five alternates. All grand jurors are residents of the county for which they serve. Regular and alternate grand jurors are randomly selected in the same manner as regular trial court jurors.

As the population of Lorain County has grown, so has the workload of the Lorain County Prosecuting Attorney and the Grand Jury. A Grand Jury sits for three (3) months. There are currently two Grand Juries appointed by the Lorain Common Pleas Court each term. Cases are presented to the Lorain County Grand Juries on two (2) days each week of every month throughout the year.

Home | About Us | Criminal | Civil | Victim / Witness |
Domestic Relations | Grand Jury | Law Enforcement | Press Releases
| Related Links | Contact Us